[Eng Trans] 2PM Junho Hanryu Pia June Issue Magazine (Interview)

Profile:

Born in 1990-01-25, 2PM’s lead vocal, after debuting as an actor from <Cold Eyes> (2013), acting in <Twenty>, potraying a sweet and bitter young story, as Dongwoo, catching the attention of the public. Afterwhich challenging himself through acting in his first drama <Memory>. As a singer, with the schedule of an actor, he is an artiste who can expand his career very much.

Junho (2PM)

Started as an actor for 4 years. Starting from the movie <Cold Eyes> to <Twenty> <Memories of the Sword>, having 2PM music at the same time, Junho who is being down to earth and gaining experiences. His first drama <Memory>, is his new challenge as actor Junho.

Interview:

As 2PM’s lead vocal, and even having solo debut in Japan, Junho’s activities are very dazzling. However, ‘singer Junho’ isn’t the complete thing, he still has a side as an actor. Ever since after <Cold Eyes> in 2013, there are several acting activities for Junho and finally there was a chance for a drama. We can safely say that <Memory> is a drama that shows his existence as an actor.

『At that time, I was filming the drama and at the same time, preparing 2PM’s concert, hence the schedule was very tight. However even so, the filming site had a very good atmosphere hence I didn’t feel tired at all. Within the 3 months, the actors and staff became one and focused on filming. After the filming ended, there was a period of time when I was still in the character of Jung Jin, that feeling was rather extraordinary.』

Jung Jin, the character that Junho acted as, is a new lawyer who is full of passion and justice. Initially he was against lawyer Taesuk  hi thereafter became someone who understands him better than anyone else, and was someone who stood by his side.

『Jung Jin’s social circle isn’t very good, he is a youngster who is unable to adapt to the surroundings. Initially he portrayed as someone who doesn’t know well about the society hence I was a little afraid if the character was not popular among the audience. However even so, after Jung Jin and Park Taesuk came together, they had a very deep friendship. Accepting Park Sung Min sunbae’s advice, in order to act as a humane Jung Jin, there is a need to have the thought of ‘imperfection, is there something missing somewhere’, and acting this way.』

Even though you have the experience as a movie actor, but that was the first time acting in a drama. Even so, Junho potrayed very strong will.

『No matter what, I don’t want to give the work a bad influence. Be it as an idol or a new actor, if the acting skills are not good, accepting crticism is the most fundamental thing. However debuting as an idol, people’s attention on you will be much stricter. Even though this is my own personal opinion, I feel that if the actor is able to potray the character fully, the end work will have good results. Especially when I have a scene with Park Sung Min sunbae, I wanted to act it out in the more natural way. Even though Jung Jin is a very strong character in the script, but this is just giving the character a life on the paper. It is the actor’s job to potray the real character, hence using lots of effort to portray that.』

When asked about the cooperation between Park Sung Min, he used a word to describe it happily – best.

『Just based on looking at the way Park Sung Min sunbae acts, one is able to learn a lot, even when it is just watching him act from his back. It is even better when we act together. Sunbae once said, “Junho ya, want to practice the lines together?” Hence the both of us drank coffee and practiced our lines together, always practicing on the lines. I think that is one of the biggest reasons that managed to help me to act them out so naturally.』

If so, how will this work be something that Junho can remember about?

『I will feel that this will be my best drama debut. In this drama, I have really learnt a lot. I managed to learn things other than movie filming, and it is a very good experience as I managed to work with very respectable actors. Even though the popularity of the drama is important, but I do not think that the end result is everything. For my own opinion, my life’s song is 2PM’s debut song, my life’s movie is <Cold Eyes> and this my life’s drama will be <Memory>.』

Recently Junho acted as a villain character through a second drama called <Chief Kim> and managed to get a lot of attention.

『During my trainee period, “sincerity will work” is a sentence that I always keep in my mind. The acting or music making that I’m doing now are things that I have always wanted to do since long ago. During my trainee period, there were also several other trainees. At that time, I wasn’t someone who was very outstanding, hence whenever I would want to comfort myself, I will always keep this sentence in my heart. No matter what happens, I always believe that with sincerity, the results will be different. Hence if the results weren’t good from the start, also believe in praying with sincerity to make them happen. Up till now, I still have this mentality.』

Scans by sgeswa (Twitter)

Japanese to Korean Translations by Bluemallowek (Twitter)

Korean to English Translations by jerwiepenpan (Twitter)

PLEASE TAKE OUT TRANSLATION WITH FULL CREDIT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CO-OPERATION! ^^

Leave a comment